Latest Updates:
Normal Topic Moving forward...... (Read 3052 times)
Willempie
God Member

I love ChessPublishing
.com!

Re:  Moving forward......
Reply #5 - 06/13/06 at 10:22:07
Post Tools
TRIAD wrote on 06/10/06 at 01:19:34:
While to some this might seem like I'M overwelming myself it is anything but! The bulk of my time is spent with Euwe. ALthough there are days where I'M not up for heavy duty studying so I find my time better spent either studying tactics, reading Nunn's work, or playing over Gligoric's games! In no way is this like a trip to the salt mines! I"m actually enjoying this a great deal! I guess I have been bitten by the bug but it seems the more I understand of the game
the more fascinating it gets...heck and I'M just starting out! If only I had done this before Shocked

Keep with the Euwe book, me and many other dutchies learned the game by his books. It is excellent to get above the novice level, especially if you combine it with tactics as you do.

Personally I didnt like the Nunn book. Some of the games are usefully annotated but the majority of the games had the problem that the annotations were either too basic or too high level.

If nothing else works, a total pig-headed unwillingness to look facts in the face will see us through.

IP Logged

castlerock
God Member

Erro Ergo Sum

Reply #4 - 06/10/06 at 06:29:57
Post Tools
Welcome to the forum. You seem to be doing all things right which will enhance your chess understanding and will make you a connoisseur. Will Gligoric and Nunn can stop you from hanging pieces in a chess game is a different question and the answer is ‘No’.