Latest Updates:
Page Index Toggle Pages: [1] 2 3 
Topic Tools
Very Hot Topic (More than 25 Replies) 10 reasons Windows 7 is better than Windows 10 (Read 11934 times)
Monocle
YaBB Newbies

I Love ChessPublishing!

Re: 10 reasons Windows 7 is better than Windows 10
Reply #30 - 09/02/17 at 10:15:51
Post Tools
GMTonyKosten wrote on 11/21/15 at 22:43:30:
1. The first thing I noticed that the Win 10 windows are far uglier, they have lost the beautiful rounded edges and transparent Aero look.

The 'flat' look has been popular with designers for a while, and as a web/software developer, I'm so used to it by now that the Aero look is starting to appear old fashioned to me.  Personally, I preferred the days when we put gradients and drop shadows on everything and rounded all the corners, but nowadays everything is all about tiles and horizontal bands and big solid rectangular blocks of flat colour.  I'm at the mercy of trendy graphic designers, so I had to get used to it.

As for the lack of Chessbase on Mac, having built software for Windows and Mac/iOS in the past, I will say that I much prefer developing for Windows because of the far superior tools available, and that my company in the past has decided against developing Mac versions of our flagship software precisely because of the lack of third party components.  For Windows and web development, there are tons of third party libraries like DevExpress, Telerik, etc, but when we investigated the options for Mac development, we found we'd have to do all that work ourselves, which for a small company with limited resources, turned out not to be practical.  In the end, we opted to build an online version of our software, which was the only way we could realistically get our product to Mac users.  Having said all that, I don't know what Chessbase was built with, so none of that may apply to them.