Latest Updates:
Normal Topic Avoiding the King's Indian in the Modern (3.c4) (Read 2976 times)
photophore

I love ChessPublishing
.com!

Re: Avoiding the King's Indian in the Modern (3.c4
Reply #3 - 12/19/06 at 09:00:33
Post Tools
As White , I use to play 3 c4 on 1..g6 : I am a KID player , and I can play it on both sides
But usually my opponents don't want to enter a regular KID , and choose some branch of Averbakh System ( or sometimes an Hippopotamus )
Then , it happens that I studied Averbakh System , when I thought it could be a vauable sustitute for KID with Black
What I can say is that this system is very dangerous for Black ,  and  I don't yet know what lines are sound :
Everybody is not Larsen or Petrossian!
My best advice to a player of "Modern" is to enter a regular KID on 3 c4 , or , at least , to play Nf6 early enough  :
To postpone or to omit this move may have huge drawbacks

IP Logged

Justinhorton

Kingpinista

Reply #2 - 11/03/06 at 14:23:52
Post Tools
Thank you, that's very helpful. I'm not sure about the Rogozenko line but 3...c5 should be viable if I don't mind 4.d5 - or, for that matter, a possible (and not compulsory) Accelerated Dragon transposition after 4.Nf3.

IP Logged

Michael Ayton
God Member

‘You’re never alone with
a doppelgänger.’

Reply #1 - 11/03/06 at 13:12:51
Post Tools
You might find the following threads of interest:

http://www.chesspub.com/cgi-bin/yabb2/YaBB.pl?num=1106847878/7#7

http://www.chesspub.com/cgi-bin/yabb2/YaBB.pl?num=1084376999/4#4

See also the Daring Defences thread "Where is White's advantage in the Modern?", where 4 ...Nd7!? is discussed.

IP Logged

Justinhorton

Kingpinista

Avoiding the King's Indian in the Modern (3.c4)
11/03/06 at 11:02:11
Post Tools
Hello everybody.