Latest Updates:
Normal Topic London System position question (Read 2984 times)
rooksway18

I love ChessPublishing
.com!

Re: London System position question
Reply #5 - 10/10/08 at 08:11:18
Post Tools
Oh, I never thought of the h4 idea so early, but yes, h4 is often part of a king side attack for white. Food for thought since I'm new to the London.

After my last post regarding Tony's comment above, I happened to transpose into a game with an early h4 and learned some things from it. So instead of focusing on the Qh3 idea, I look at moving the h pawn too. Still assiilating attacking ideas in the London System.

And thanks for the game and annotations Eric! I appreciate it.

IP Logged

GMEricPrie

"The most simple moves
are the less complicated"

Reply #4 - 10/07/08 at 17:12:39
Post Tools
I would have thought h2-h4 (instead of the milder h2-h3...) at any time after Be7 (actually intending Nh5), as mentionned in the last update with a knight on c6 instead of d7.
Then I played this game this sunday :

Brethes.pgn ( 1 KB | 86 Downloads )

IP Logged

dsanchez

24.Nh1!?N

Reply #3 - 10/04/08 at 12:51:25
Post Tools
I have recently started playing this system, using "Win With the London," Davies' DVD, and of course ChessPublishing as references.  I believe all three mention that in the London, knowing thematic ideas and concepts can be as important than actual move orders, and I believe the decision regarding when to play h3 is one of those occasions.  If he can, White will usually meet ...Nh5 with Bg5, trying to entice Black's kingside pawns forward.  However, as soon as Black takes measures against this (for example, blocking the diagonal with  ...Be7), that is White's cue to consider creating an esacape hole with h3.  For me, I think identifying and recognizing these cues is very helpful to understanding this opening.