Latest Updates:
Page Index Toggle Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 6
Topic Tools
Very Hot Topic (More than 25 Replies) Attacking Spanish: Marshall, Schliemann & Gajewski (Read 60592 times)
Fromper

GrandPatzer

Re: Attacking Spanish: Marshall, Schliemann & Gajewski
Reply #82 - 03/15/10 at 14:16:43
Post Tools
Schroeder wrote on 03/15/10 at 05:26:06:
I own Ivan Sokolov's "The Ruy Lopez Revisited", which is probably the most recent and most recommendable book on the Schliemann. There is another thread on this book in this forum.

Ah, thanks. I found that thread, and the book looks interesting.

I like the fact that it also covers some other non-mainstream Ruy Lopez lines. I've been trying to play the Chigorin, but at my level (1700's), trying to play against slightly better players, I find that they know more of the theory than I do. Besides, I'm not that good at positional games - I'd rather play something sharper and more tactical for now. This book seems like it would have a few suggestions for fun ways to avoid the main lines.

GrandPatzer!!!

1777 peak USCF rating - currently 1620 from coming back rusty
IP Logged

Schroeder

I Love ChessPublishing!

Reply #81 - 03/15/10 at 05:26:06
Post Tools
I own Ivan Sokolov's "The Ruy Lopez Revisited", which is probably the most recent and most recommendable book on the Schliemann. There is another thread on this book in this forum.

IP Logged

Fromper

GrandPatzer

Reply #80 - 03/15/10 at 04:35:48
Post Tools
realpolitik wrote on 02/18/10 at 22:58:48: