Latest Updates:
Normal Topic Please help me pick a new ruy lopez defense (Read 2830 times)
CraigEvans
God Member

If I can't sacrifice a
pawn, I'll throw my rook
in

Re: Please help me pick a new ruy lopez defense
Reply #5 - 07/19/09 at 10:42:56
Post Tools
If you're aiming at CM and abov, you're clearly a capable player and not against putting some work in. In this case the Zaitsev should suit you fine - by "theoretical" most of the main lines start on move 18+, but since the first 10 are required just to get you into the Zaitsev, the amount of theory can be blown out of proportion. Not that I'm an expert (I dropped my attempt to learn the opening due to the amount of work needed), but a lot of the theory is based on understanding the typical plans, especially against the "lesser" variations such as 12.a3 (which can be very potent if black does not understand what he needs to do). Yes, there is some theory to the main lines, and if you are not au fait then you might have a few unpleasant experiences, but at 2200+ level this is probably true in most openings.

However, the Zaitsev is also quite sharp (compared to the Chigorin/Breyer/Keres), so if you're looking for something a little less complex, perhaps a sideline like 9...Qd7 would be of interest - fully playable, but somewhat off the beaten track.

Either way, "The Ruy Lopez: A Guide For Black" will be your bible for either of the lines above. Good luck spending your next 40 years learning the closed Ruy - I'll be having fun with 3...Na5 Wink

"Give a man a pawn, and he'll smell a rat. Give a man a piece, and he'll smell a patzer." - Me.

"If others have seen further than me, it is because giants have been standing on my shoulders."
IP Logged

Raoh
YaBB Newbies

I Love ChessPublishing!

Reply #4 - 07/19/09 at 10:21:24
Post Tools
Interesting. But i believe that the Gajewski is a bit to lively for me... With the center blowed open etc... + the idea to giving up a pawn doesn't really fill me with confidence