Latest Updates:
Page Index Toggle Pages: [1] 2 3 4
Topic Tools
Very Hot Topic (More than 25 Replies) Mega Database Price Outrage (Read 31111 times)
Jupp53
God Member

be

Re: Mega Database Price Outrage
Reply #50 - 02/15/10 at 15:00:09
Post Tools
Quote:
All of you that has studied microeconomics and utilility, to you this is clear but for all the rest one have to explain why someone chooses to buy instead of getting for free.

As I studied this I have to admit it is still far from clear. To say it directly: Empirical it's wrong. And it's easy to explain from Darwin's point of view: Survival of the fittest is not survival of the strongest. It is survival of those best fitting to an enviroment or being able to adapt to it (very often by social organisation). Or as we're talking about a war game here (=chess): Read Sun Tzi or Mao Tse Tung. You will understand why microeconomics doesn't predict economical behavior and macroeconomical development.

I stopped buying cd's and music when copy protection came on stealing my right to deal fun with my friends. Now I buy only music without copy protection. And I bought till today every chess book I work with (inclusive the chesspublishing files) and some more. Chesspublishing sells their files for personal use. The day they declare that it's forbidden to give to a personal known chess friend the copy of a page covering a special line or a copy of a single digit number of games, the day I will stop using it. With regret, because it's good stuff, but I'll stop. Same holds for private copies with every mental usable material.

CB has just shown first reactions. Via amazon you can buy a Fritz 12 version with 3 month premium mebership on their server for ~27 € instead of the official 49 € and the new chessbase mega pack is legally on the market for 202 €. If they continue to do good work for the community of chess players this community will continue to buy their products to reasonable prices. No need to complain for anyone.