Latest Updates:
Page Index Toggle Pages: [1] 2 
Topic Tools
Hot Topic (More than 10 Replies) C00-C19: Studying the Games of.... (Read 10812 times)
Göran

ChessPublishing is great!

Re: Studying the Games of....
Reply #23 - 06/17/10 at 22:14:50
Post Tools
Luis Moreno wrote on 06/17/10 at 15:05:46:
The name of the book is THE FRENCH DEFENSE (Modern Practice) by GM Alexander Kalinin which mostly uses symbolic ( Informant type)...

Thanks a lot for the information, Very appreciated!

STEFANOS wrote on 06/17/10 at 18:35:19:
I recommend a very old book of Gligoric's from RHM Press I think around 1973. Has lot of games to play and with good analysis by Karpov, Uhlmann etc. Then Taulbut's "How to play the French" from the 80's and go for Uhlmann's "Winning with the French".
Study of these books will provide very good understanding of the opening. After check a recent database and  choose your favourite variations.

Thanks STEFANOS ! Very helpfull as well.

A long time ago I studied Uhlmann and Talbot and still have Uhlmann on my book shelves. Will try get some of your recommendations.

What kind of proof is that?

IP Logged

STEFANOS

I Love ChessPublishing!

Reply #22 - 06/17/10 at 18:35:19
Post Tools
I recommend a very old book of Gligoric's from RHM Press I think around 1973. Has lot of games to play and with good analysis by Karpov, Uhlmann etc. Then Taulbut's "How to play the French" from the 80's and go for Uhlmann's "Winning with the French".
Study of these books will provide very good understanding of the opening. After check a recent database and  choose your favourite variations.

IP Logged

Luis Moreno
YaBB Newbies

I Love ChessPublishing!

Reply #21 - 06/17/10 at 15:05:46
Post Tools
Sorry for the misspellings, I will be more carefull in the future.