Latest Updates:
Normal Topic C41: The Philidor with 1...d6 (Read 5466 times)
Papageno
Senior Member
****
Offline


FM

Posts: 299
Location: Germany
Joined: 06/12/08
Gender: Male
Re: The Philidor with 1...d6
Reply #5 - 08/06/10 at 19:13:44
Post Tools
Bologan presents
1. e4 d6 2. Nc3 Nf6 3. f4 d5 4. e5 d4 5. exf6 dxc3 6. fxg7 cxd2+ 7. Qxd2 Qxd2+ 8. Bxd2 Bxg7 9. O-O-O Nc6
on his DVD. IMHO, Black should be okay, say with Be6 (or Bg4) and 0-0-0 to follow.

  
Back to top
 
IP Logged
 
zoo
Ex Member


Re: The Philidor with 1...d6
Reply #4 - 08/06/10 at 13:43:14
Post Tools
After 1.e4 d6 2.Nc3, 2...e5 is not optimal since White can play an improved King's Gambit with Bf1-b5 in one go. Hence 2...Nf6 and then what after 3.f4 ? If Black plays the Pirc (well, like Bologan) it's no problem, or else he can try 3...d5 but I don't know if it's ok here.
A possible line is 4.e5 d4 5.exf6 dxc3 6.fxg7 cxd2+ 7.Qxd2 Bxg7 [7...Qxd2+ 8.Bxd2 Bxg7 9.0-0-0] 8.Qxd8+ Kxd8 and Black's structure looks a bit worse (see diagram). White can develop slowly (Nf3,c3,000,Bd3...) and as a rule, active pieces trade away and weak pawns remain.
* * * * * * * *
* * * * * * * *
* * * * * * * *
* * * * * * * *
* * * * * * * *
* * * * * * * *
* * * * * * * *
* * * * * * * *
*
Does Bologan think Black has equal chances in this position, or does he suggest another path ?
  
Back to top
 
IP Logged
 
Anders
Full Member
***
Offline



Posts: 107
Joined: 01/04/03
Gender: Male
Re: The Philidor with 1...d6
Reply #3 - 08/05/10 at 18:57:43
Post Tools
Justinhorton wrote on 08/04/10 at 09:09:21:
What if White doesn't play 2.d4?


That is a somewhat "open" question.

If we limit ourself to 2.Nc3 & f4 then Bologan recommends 2...Nf6 3.f4 d5 which I think makes sense. 


/ A
  
Back to top
 
IP Logged
 
Justinhorton
Full Member
***
Offline


Kingpinista

Posts: 237
Joined: 10/27/06
Re: The Philidor with 1...d6
Reply #2 - 08/04/10 at 17:03:04
Post Tools
TN wrote on 08/04/10 at 11:30:21:
After 2.Nc3, Black can play 2...e5 and meet 3.Nf3 with 3...Nf6 and 3.d4 with 3...ed4 4.Qd4 Nc6.


After 1.e4 e5 2.Nc3, would Black normally play 2...d6?
  
Back to top
WWW  
IP Logged
 
TN
God Member
*****
Offline



Posts: 3420
Joined: 11/07/08
Gender: Male
Re: The Philidor with 1...d6
Reply #1 - 08/04/10 at 11:30:21
Post Tools
After 2.Nf3, Black can play 2...Nf6 3.Nc3 e5 or meet 3.d3 with 3...c5.

After 2.Nc3, Black can play 2...e5 and meet 3.Nf3 with 3...Nf6 and 3.d4 with 3...ed4 4.Qd4 Nc6.

And after 2.f4, 2...d5 is quite an interesting option.
  

All our dreams come true if we have the courage to pursue them.
Back to top
 
IP Logged
 
Justinhorton
Full Member
***
Offline


Kingpinista

Posts: 237
Joined: 10/27/06
C41: The Philidor with 1...d6
08/04/10 at 09:09:21
Post Tools
What if White doesn't play 2.d4?
« Last Edit: 08/01/11 at 21:09:26 by Smyslov_Fan »  
Back to top
WWW  
IP Logged
 
Bookmarks: del.icio.us Digg Facebook Google Google+ Linked in reddit StumbleUpon Twitter Yahoo