Latest Updates:
Page Index Toggle Pages: [1] 2 3 
Topic Tools
Very Hot Topic (More than 25 Replies) Any opinions on Igor Smirnov's training courses? (Read 52693 times)
rosshickers
YaBB Newbies

I Love ChessPublishing!

Re: Any opinions on Igor Smirnov's training courses?
Reply #36 - 01/31/18 at 15:12:10
Post Tools
some of them are free for me it seems worth starting with them
I'm just in the process of studying, I'll write about the results

Do professional course works and became champion

IP Logged

kingbadger79
YaBB Newbies

I Love ChessPublishing!

Reply #35 - 01/06/16 at 01:12:53
Post Tools
I have and am going through a lot of his courses. Usually they are only a few hours long, and a bit over priced. If you're going to buy any of his courses, the best one is calculate till mate. It was completely worth it. I would not recommend the course Self taught grandmaster because there is not enough information to justify the cost. Grand masters secrets is the next because it truly summarizes all his courses with the exception of his endgame course. I am reserving comment on that course because I have not went through it yet. I do own it though. As I read the other reviews, I was a little annoyed. You have to compare apples to apples. Are Aagaard's books better at teaching chess calculation and attack? Of course!! you will also take a year to get through them and do a lot of positions before you even get to the point where you know what you should be using practically. If you compare Aagaard's 2 volume attacking video to his books grandmaster's prep: attack and defense and the two volume Attacking Manuel, the video sucks. As a companion though, it can save you a lot of time and give you more as you work on the positions. As far as videos and stuff you can apply quickly to your chess training. It is an awesome way to get there if you have the money. If you want to understand the concepts in depth go Aagaard. I do both. Btw, The Secrets of attacking chess by Marin is bett