Latest Updates:
Page Index Toggle Pages: 1 [2] 3 
Topic Tools
Very Hot Topic (More than 25 Replies) C02: Is the French Advance a good weapon? (Read 48427 times)
Schaakhamster
God Member

I Love ChessPublishing!

Re: C02: Is the French Advance a good weapon?
Reply #29 - 08/24/11 at 19:02:44
Post Tools
BPaulsen wrote on 08/23/11 at 00:17:26:
OrangeCounty wrote on 08/22/11 at 17:10:29:
I'm not sure why amateurs are always advised to play with an open center, even at the cost of an equal (as white) or worse position.  I would play the Winawer every game if my opponents would essay a move other than 4 e5 reliably.

This is one of the biggest reasons the French is a strong recommendation on the club level.

Even more so since a lot of coaches insist on recommending the tepid 4. c4 Exchange, a line that I can have a black player ready to play and win against in less than 30 minutes.

As a coach I'd feel like I was stunting my students by recommending harmless ideas just because I had some dogma I had to pursue.

You realise your reaction is also quite dogmatic?

IP Logged

knightmare

Reply #28 - 08/23/11 at 14:31:39
Post Tools
BPaulsen wrote on 08/23/11 at 00:17:26:
[quote author=425348454D404F4546210 link=1311042401/25#25 date=1314033029]
Even more so since a lot of coaches insist on recommending the tepid 4. c4 Exchange, a line that I can have a black player ready to play and win against in less than 30 minutes.

As a coach I'd feel like I was stunting my students by recommending harmless ideas just because I had some dogma I had to pursue.

To be honest, I think any coach who recommends a special variation (or opening) for every student, is just a horrible bad one. As well as someone who recommends lines only because those lines require a lesser amount of  work (which usually means THEY have to do a lesser amount of work).

I give several positions from different lines to them, let them look at it for some time, ask them how they feel about it, what to move, etc.