Latest Updates:
Very Hot Topic (More than 25 Replies) An interesting new chesspub member-authored book! (Read 116324 times)
BladezII

Member of chesspublishing
.com and STC Club

Re: An interesting new chesspub member-authored book!
Reply #204 - 06/26/17 at 18:24:33
Post Tools
So...  the book...  when and where ?

I am a participating member of chesspublishing.com since 1998.

IP Logged

TonyRo
God Member

I'm gonna crack your skull!

Reply #203 - 07/17/16 at 01:54:00
Post Tools
I keep telling people it's a pain in the ass, and no one believes me!  Grin

IP Logged

ErictheRed
God Member

USCF National Master

Reply #202 - 07/15/16 at 15:50:15
Post Tools
I don't think that many posters here realize the incredible amount of work and time it takes to write a book.  Especially one that is a "labor of love" from an amateur instead of one just pumped out to pay the bills.  It's a huge endeavor!

I'm reminded of Robert Farrar Capon in The Supper of the Lamb:

First, I am an amateur.  If that strikes you as disappointing, consider how much in error you are, and how the error is entirely of your own devising.  At its root lies an objection to cookbooks written by non-professionals... [sic] ...Amateur and nonprofessional are not synonyms.  The world may or may not need another cookbook, but it needs all the lovers--amateurs--it can get. [sic]

...the amateur--the lover, the man who thinks heedlessness a sin and boredom a heresy--is just the man you need.  More than that, whether you think you need him or not, he is a man who is bound, by his love, to speak.

Off topic perhaps, and I'm ascribing my own thoughts to Bryan Paulsen's work, but a book like this is a labor of love that demands the best of an author, and the workload is huge.  Be patient!

IP Logged

GabrielGale

Who was Thursday?

Reply #201 - 07/04/16 at 07:29:44
Post Tools
ghenghisclown wrote on 02/16/16 at 06:14:14:
December 2016