Latest Updates:
Normal Topic The mighty Najdorf or the humble and poor schev? (Read 3896 times)
Gilchrist is a legend
God Member

Re: The mighty Najdorf or the humble and poor schev?
Reply #5 - 05/17/12 at 04:23:38
Post Tools
I think that "delayed Keres Attack" is the Perenyi Attack, which I studied a few years ago. Some of those positions can become extremely irrational, a bit like the Botvinnik Semi-Slav. I would rather play 6. Be3 e5 as Black, and 6. Be3 e6 as White.

Creo lo que creo no importa lo que creen los demás.

IP Logged

Uhohspaghettio
God Member

I Love ChessPublishing!

Reply #4 - 05/16/12 at 22:20:15
Post Tools
I agree, almost every part of the OP including the title is dubious at best.

IP Logged

Gilchrist is a legend
God Member

Reply #3 - 04/15/12 at 04:30:09
Post Tools
I am not sure if the Scheveningen is easier to play. The positions especially in 6. Be2 and 6. f4 can get tense, when pieces might not be traded until move 25, with the structure d6/e6/f7/g6/h7 and the piece formation Bg7/Nd7/Nc6/Bb7/Qc7 (compare with ...e5 lines).

IP Logged

Michael Wilde

Reply #2 - 04/15/12 at 03:50:44
Post Tools
Yes I think the Keres Attack plays a roll...You have that against the Schev. and 6.Bg5 against the Najdorf...I play the Najdor and Scheveningen, mostly e6 set-ups with the Najdorf move order.  I would rather face the delayed Keres Attack than the normal. 

1. e4 c5 2. Nf3 d6 3. d4 cxd4 4. Nxd4 Nf6 5. Nc3 a6 6. Be3 e6 7. g4 e5 8. Nf5 h5

I am pretty comfortable in this position as black...

I prefer the Schev. pawn structue(the small center) in almost all lines.

That being said I have ordered and am awaiting The Scheveningen Move by Move and will be interested to see how the author handles the Keres Attack.