Latest Updates:
Page Index Toggle Pages: 1 ... 4 5 [6] 7 
Topic Tools
Very Hot Topic (More than 25 Replies) Can Fritz estimate my Elo rating? Yes. (Read 31735 times)
brabo
God Member

Welcome chessfriend

Re: Can Fritz estimate my Elo rating? Yes.
Reply #26 - 06/06/14 at 11:46:32
Post Tools
GMTonyKosten wrote on 06/06/14 at 10:27:37:
Keano wrote on 06/02/14 at 14:33:14:
In short, cheating is not a big problem in chess despite what you read in chessbase or other places.

Actually, cheating in chess is much more common than you would think. I've seen literally hundreds of cases since I started playing chess professionally! However, these were almost all before iPhones and the like existed; arranging games and asking advice from strong players were the two most likely problems.
Nowadays the temptation to nip into the toilets and quickly analyse a critical position with Fritz on your phone is surely too great for the dishonest, and very difficult to detect.

Then why do we only start to react today on the many cheating cases? I fully agree that cheating has always existed but what is now different that we do have to take drastic measurements? Could it be because now the top players are threatened by the cheating which wasn't the case before?

IP Logged

MartinC
God Member

I Love ChessPublishing!

Reply #25 - 06/06/14 at 11:42:25
Post Tools
Not that hard to catch on the ground really? Some people have been of course.

Certainly easier than detecting people asking for advice Smiley

IP Logged

GMTonyKosten
YaBB Administrator

Mr Dynamic?

Reply #24 - 06/06/14 at 10:27:37
Post Tools
Keano wrote on 06/02/14 at 14:33:14:
In short, cheating is not a big problem in chess despite what you read in chessbase or other places.