Latest Updates:
Page Index Toggle Pages: 1 2 [3] 4 5 
Topic Tools
Very Hot Topic (More than 25 Replies) Top players who don't even know the laws of chess (Read 28073 times)
fling
God Member

I Love ChessPublishing!

Re: Top players who don't even know the laws of chess
Reply #37 - 04/12/15 at 08:42:30
Post Tools
But if the notes are made while playing it is pretty hard to say if it only making or also using the notes unless the arbiter watches the entire game. And while making the notes, you could still theoretically be using them I'd say. At least subconsciously.

Anyhow, no matter what and how silly the notes are, my opinion is that So wrote the notes in order to play better and the rules are meant to prohibit that. Therefore, I can't really understand why it is so upsetting with a forfeit after So was warned twice this tourney and apparently also in earlier tournaments.

IP Logged

Straggler

Reply #36 - 04/12/15 at 06:53:16
Post Tools
As a fellow lawyer I agree with IM Cox that the prohibition on using notes cannot properly be construed as prohibiting the making of notes. But, if the notes made continue to be visible to the player throughout the game, it is impossible to be sure that the player is not "using" them by looking at them. I don't think it would be illegal to make notes on a stack of cards, each of which is immediately turned face down; and I'm not convinced that it should be.

IP Logged

jon
YaBB Newbies

I Love ChessPublishing!

Reply #35 - 04/12/15 at 05:16:26
Post Tools