Latest Updates:
Normal Topic Why Ra3 in main line Bayonet? (Read 1721 times)
Pawnpusher

I Love ChessPublishing!

Re: Why Ra3 in main line Bayonet?
Reply #6 - 03/17/23 at 10:47:16
Post Tools
Placing a rook on the third rank is a main idea in the Zukertort, as well.

IP Logged

Frankly

The power to make men
happy or to drive them
mad

Reply #5 - 03/17/23 at 09:42:21
Post Tools
Excellent, thanks for the trouble, people.

IP Logged

an ordinary chessplayer
God Member

I used to be not bad.

Reply #4 - 03/17/23 at 03:47:06
Post Tools
I'm by no means an expert in this variation, but white wants to play a4-a5, and if black plays ...b7-b6 white needs the rook guarded in order to answer a5xb6. There are other moves to guard the rook, e.g. Bc1-b2, Bc1-a3, Nd2-b3, it just so happens that Ra1-a3 is more generally useful for reasons given already.

I think the black rook goes to a6 for the same reason the white rook goes to a3. In most scenarios the rooks will be traded and it won't matter from/to which square. But in some hypothetical case it might be better to double rooks, which is easier if the rook is not on the back row. Also, notice that on a6 the black rook defends the d6 pawn, and that's enough reasons for one move.

IP Logged

RosemarysBaby
YaBB Newbies

I Love ChessPublishing!

Reply #3 - 03/16/23 at 12:44:15
Post Tools
I'd say there isn't an immediate idea, it's just a generally useful positional move.
a3 is a safe square. More importantly, the rook has influence and mobility along the third rank, which will be fully cleared after Nb5. The rook could play along the b-file, just be useful by defending f3,g3,h3, or if the position opens up, say with f5->exf5, maybe even shift to the kingside.

IP Logged

Frankly

The power to make men
happy or to drive them
mad

Reply #2 - 03/16/23 at 11:37:25
Post Tools
Sorry, here are the moves: