Normal Topic To the moderators of this forum (Read 5360 times)
Michael Ayton
God Member
*****
Offline


‘You’re never alone with
a doppelgänger.’

Posts: 1977
Location: durham
Joined: 04/19/03
Gender: Male
Re: To the moderators of this forum
Reply #9 - 05/22/07 at 07:40:00
Post Tools
I see what you mean John. That should sort 'em!
  
Back to top
 
IP Logged
 
jeupham
Full Member
***
Offline


I love ChessPublishing
.com!

Posts: 102
Location: Cove, Hampshire
Joined: 12/04/04
Gender: Male
Re: To the moderators of this forum
Reply #8 - 05/21/07 at 18:50:18
Post Tools
OK. I've just had another attempt to subscribe to the AMCA forum and here is the record from the 

phpbb_users table for a user whose name is Mqbqdphy


       Edit         Delete         179        0        Mqbqdphy        66e3565896ed32f38618b32f8b4eb1d3        0        0        0        1179771752        0        0        -12.00        1        albanian        D M d, Y g:i a        0        0        0        0        0        NULL        0        1        0        1        1        1        1        1        0        1        1        0                0        dfsgdf@i.ua        476611858        http://sotalol.greatnow.com/sotalol/        Tamojasaj        http://sotalol.greatnow.com/astelin/        bfa92c35aa                                  sotalol        astelin, xirpic        acefd5        NULL

You can see that their hobbies are drugs and that they have a stupid email alias. and that they are Albanian (allegedly).

Action: delete them.

Tiresome but c'est la vie!
  
Back to top
WWW  
IP Logged
 
jeupham
Full Member
***
Offline


I love ChessPublishing
.com!

Posts: 102
Location: Cove, Hampshire
Joined: 12/04/04
Gender: Male
Re: To the moderators of this forum
Reply #7 - 05/21/07 at 18:22:39
Post Tools
The solution is not cut and dried. 

You can eliminate all those whose favourite web site is an ad for porn or viagra. That's easy. 

They tend to set their nationality as Albanian. Cool

Their email alias is obviously crazy and usually has a two digit number at the end before the domain name.

Their hobbies are also a dead give away. Grin

When I see what looks like a genuine application I email the applicant and ask if they wish to subscribe to the forum in question.

This method has not failed me yet.

John  Wink
  
Back to top
WWW  
IP Logged
 
Michael Ayton
God Member
*****
Offline


‘You’re never alone with
a doppelgänger.’

Posts: 1977
Location: durham
Joined: 04/19/03
Gender: Male
Re: To the moderators of this forum
Reply #6 - 05/21/07 at 18:12:05
Post Tools
How might this work? How would Tony know who to approve and who not?
  
Back to top
 
IP Logged
 
jeupham
Full Member
***
Offline


I love ChessPublishing
.com!

Posts: 102
Location: Cove, Hampshire
Joined: 12/04/04
Gender: Male
Re: To the moderators of this forum
Reply #5 - 05/21/07 at 17:28:06
Post Tools
Just stop them subscribing in the first place and save the hassle. Maybe they'll find something else to do such as Euthanasia of spammers.

John
  
Back to top
WWW  
IP Logged
 
TalJechin
God Member
*****
Offline


There is no secret ingredient.

Posts: 2892
Location: Malmö
Joined: 08/12/04
Gender: Male
Re: To the moderators of this forum
Reply #4 - 05/21/07 at 16:57:22
Post Tools
If it is possible maybe it could be an idea to block the use of the 'paste'-function for the first few days for new members? 

New real members would probably not even notice, as they'll write their questions or suggestions themselves while the spammers probably just want to copy and paste as quickly as possible...
  
Back to top
 
IP Logged
 
GMTonyKosten
YaBB Administrator
*****
Offline


Mr Dynamic?

Posts: 3192
Location: Clermont-Ferrand
Joined: 12/19/02
Gender: Male
Re: To the moderators of this forum
Reply #3 - 05/21/07 at 12:29:50
Post Tools
jeupham wrote on 05/21/07 at 11:53:29:
You can do what I do for the forums I manage which is approve registrations yourself.

Yes, I fear you are right - it is more hassle for me, but there again wiping out dozens of obscene posts is also time-consuming. Angry
« Last Edit: 05/21/07 at 15:08:40 by GMTonyKosten »  
Back to top
IP Logged
 
jeupham
Full Member
***
Offline


I love ChessPublishing
.com!

Posts: 102
Location: Cove, Hampshire
Joined: 12/04/04
Gender: Male
Re: To the moderators of this forum
Reply #2 - 05/21/07 at 11:53:29
Post Tools
Tony,
     You can do what I do for the forums I manage which is approve registrations yourself. 

This is standard configuration item for the BB.


This is an overhead of course but I prefer that to potentially exposing forum users to inappropriate content.

Normally these morons have stupid email aliases, their web site promotes porn or viagra and they appear to be Albanian i.e. its very obvious they are idiots.

Hassle but worth it for the forum users. Smiley

John
  
Back to top
WWW  
IP Logged
 
GMTonyKosten
YaBB Administrator
*****
Offline


Mr Dynamic?

Posts: 3192
Location: Clermont-Ferrand
Joined: 12/19/02
Gender: Male
Re: To the moderators of this forum
Reply #1 - 05/20/07 at 10:24:30
Post Tools
Of course they are banned immediately we see them spamming, but there is little we can do to stop them going through the registration process again and having another go. If all the moderators are on their toes and delete their rubbish quickly they will soon get bored with writing the messages! Smiley
  
Back to top
IP Logged
 
sssthepro
Senior Member
****
Offline


I Love ChessPublishing!

Posts: 439
Joined: 12/16/06
To the moderators of this forum
05/20/07 at 04:56:26
Post Tools
Can you ban all these people who are citing inappropriate stuff here? It has greatly angered me and, I am pretty sure, many of the other users of this forum.
  
Back to top
 
IP Logged
 
Bookmarks: del.icio.us Digg Facebook Google Google+ Linked in reddit StumbleUpon Twitter Yahoo