Latest Updates:
Page Index Toggle Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 12
Topic Tools
Very Hot Topic (More than 25 Replies) Yelena Dembo on Chess.com (Read 81184 times)
Jay

Re: Yelena Dembo on Chess.com
Reply #177 - 02/05/11 at 04:05:32
Post Tools
I was going to diligently read through the many pages, but I must concur that correlation suggests but does not prove cheating.  They would have to monitor the given player for a period and see if their correlation falls.  They simply are not going to do that; it would be hard enough for a game lasting an hour.  For correspondence chess it seems impossible.  Personally I never care if an opponent uses a computer against me, but then I am a lowly pawn in the chess world.  I also like others think that pre-computer analysis is likely to cause an increase in the correlation to computer moves.  In one line I am studying in Avrukh's 1.d4 vol 1, he clearly admits that one awkward and surprising move is computer generated.  If I face it, correspondence or not, I will play it.  Does that make me a cheater?

IP Logged

FirebrandX

What would Houdini do?

Reply #176 - 09/26/10 at 19:09:15
Post Tools