Latest Updates:
Page Index Toggle Pages: 1 2 [3] 4 5 ... 10
Topic Tools
Very Hot Topic (More than 25 Replies) Esserman "Mayhem in the Morra" (Read 174397 times)
proustiskeen
God Member

Hello from Omaha!

Re: Esserman "Mayhem in the Morra"
Reply #113 - 09/29/12 at 12:49:15
Post Tools
I have some editorial experience.  Editing is not even remotely comparable to censorship.  Sometimes the point of editing is to save the author from his or her own worst tendencies.

IP Logged

Bibs
YaBB Moderator

Reply #112 - 09/29/12 at 11:47:49
Post Tools
For more gratuitous sexism, we present Adrian Mikhalchishin:

http://ankara2012.fide.com/en/component/content/article/1-news-en/182-game-of-th...

"Mens resigne is such situations,but girls can not do it for psyhological reasons <sic>. 35...Nxg6 36.Qxa1 Qg7 37.Bd4 Kh7 38.d7 Qe7 39.Bxe5 Nxe5 40.Qxe5 1–0"

Tw@t.
And to think he is a women's coach.

IP Logged

TalJechin
God Member

There is no secret ingredient.

Reply #111 - 09/29/12 at 09:09:15
Post Tools
I agree with BPaulsen, if you're able to read you should be able to decide whether you want to continue reading something or not. If there's anyone to blame it's the reviewers who may not have prepared you for what you bought. And generally speaking, reviews are getting increasingly important since most buyers don't get the chance to leaf through the books in the local chess store anymore.

The big problem with censorship is that it depends too much on the whim of the censors. We've probably all heard stories of how great novels like e.g. The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn or Slaughter-House Five got banned from some American schools in the 80s simply for containing a certain word...

And that "political correctness" (whatever that really means...) has now infected most countries - around here a librarian recently wanted to weed out Tintin from the children's department...