Latest Updates:
Hot Topic (More than 10 Replies) World largest offline chess database. (Read 6881 times)
katar

look another year went
by

Re: World largest offline chess database.
Reply #10 - 12/30/15 at 21:49:00
Post Tools
proustiskeen wrote on 12/30/15 at 14:22:16:
Tell you what. Why don't you try putting Big Database 2016 (no annotations, so no authorial problems) on a torrent and letting Chessbase know that you did so? Shouldn't be a problem, since they're only data compilers.

I'm not a lawyer. I don't know if or how copyright works with compilation. What I do know is that what the OP is doing is ethically murky and, imho, wrong. Crowther is struggling to get by while having offered the chess world a great service for 20 years now, and this guy is taking Crowther's work and repackaging it without permission? For shame.

Chessbase's Big Database may have thin copyright protection as a compilation assuming its selection criteria are minimally creative, even though the individual elements (games) are not protected.  Thin copyright protection basically protects only against verbatim or literal copying.  So uploading a verbatim copy of Chessbase's product would probably be both a copyright violation as well as a breach of Chessbase's terms of use (whcih is a matter of contract rather than copyright).

Facts (like raw chess game scores) are not copyrighted, though the particular expression may be copyrighted.  Volunteers who cull facts from dozens of sources to compile and repackage those facts in, say, a Wikipedia article contribute to the public storehouse of accessible information or knowledge to the benefit of a global audience.  Is that shameful, really?

2078 uscf
IP Logged

proustiskeen
YaBB Moderator

Hello from Omaha!

Reply #9 - 12/30/15 at 14:22:16
Post Tools